Unchartered Waters? Code it out!

I could not get my screencastify to work to record my progress, but I was able to take a few snapshots of what I was able to create with my coding experience! 

I must have been living under a rock for the past 10 years of my technology journey, or maybe I  just never thought too hard about how the websites I was using came to be. I learned in class that this all has to do with coding, who would have guessed? Well.. likely a lot of people who are not as in the dark as I am.

My first thoughts on coding: 

What is this? What do all of these terms mean? What would you use this for? How do people do this for a living? Their minds are brilliant! Wow.

In the first 10 minutes of being exposed to coding I went on a whirlwind adventure of trying to understand what it was, to realizing how brilliant the people who interact with it on an advanced level must be. I decided to go beyond the game level I experienced in my class and went to codeacademy.com, let me tell you, I have never been more confused in my entire life.

The website took me through two introduction lessons where I learned the basic language of coding and how to create a website from using the coding language. From <p> </p> for paragraph, to <ol> </ol> to create an ordered list. Wow was it intense. In 45 minutes I was exposed to non-stop information, all new to me, but something that both challenged and interested me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My experience with Code Academy: 

If you haven’t ventured to code academy, I highly reccomend that you do; Check it out here! (link)I had no idea what to expect when I clicked on this website. I thought maybe it would provide me isntantly with a Moana like activity, or making an animal dance. Instead it took me to a training course on how to create a basic website, adding titles, images, links, lists, etc. Learning the language of html and trying to not have my head explode all at the same time. It was a lot. But it was interesting to see how the websites I use on a daily basis are created and how indepth the coding has to be. It challenged my memory, my problem solving, and my ability to pick up on a new language. What a great tool to help students grow in those areas.

Is coding important? 

I think coding can be important to teach problem soliving skills with a tool (computer) that has caught the interest of the generation. Dan Crow wrote an article (Read it here!)  that put my thoughts on coding into a perfect explaination. To sum it up, students should not learn coding for future job purposes (unless desired by the student), rather it should be used as a tool to help students understand how a larger problem, in any situation, can be broken down and viewed in smaller parts to understand, challenge, and try a solution for the problem. Much like the curriculum, we should be using it as a guiding tool to teach the fundamental and relevant knowledge that our students need in order to be successful, engaged, and show authentic learning.

Leave a Reply

